top of page

takeaways at 23.

Updated: Mar 8, 2020

Hey guess what?! It's my birthday today and I turn the big twenty-three! And now just thinking about it, it's been more than a year since I started this blog. As each year passes by, I gain new takeaways that I want to share with you. Some might resonate with you, some might make you laugh, nod your head yes, or maybe provide new insight for you.


 

Takeaways at 23:


Life's too short to focus your energy on things that won't matter in the long run. Things are temporary for a reason.


Climb the jungle gym, not the ladder.

- I find it more appealing to try out different career paths, rather than focus on one career and doing a great job. I'd rather dabble in different things because I gain more skills and experiences that way.


Delay is not denial. God's timing is essential. Things that happen, happen for good reason.


Don't put things aside, thinking that you will get to it later.

- Whether it's that job application, a project, a script, an assignment, or even just cleaning your room. I have a habit of hoarding or even procrastinating. Eventually, it builds up to point where I become overwhelmed. Do yourself a favor and GET. IT. DONE.


Stay present.

- I'll share the analogy of driving. If you look back in your rearview mirror or too forward many cars ahead, you lose sight of your focus: what's right in front of you. You'll grow in gratitude and appreciation of where you're at right now.


Save your money!

- Do I really need that boba or ice cream Jireh? Maybe sometimes to treat yourself. But it can easily lead to impulsive buying. I always try to put a portion of my paycheck into my savings. Because I never know what might happen in the future that can require big money spending.


self-care. Self-Care. SELF-CARE.

- I cannot emphasize this enough: you need to take care of yourself Jireh! Always listen to your body and do what it needs. You are a bucket: you cannot pour into others if your own bucket is not filled. Self-care is nourishing your body, mind, relationships and spirit.


FLOSS.

- This seems like a no-brainer, but as someone who recently had to get 8 fillings (thank goodness I had insurance), I was reminded how much I hated going to the dentist. Start as early as you can.


My outlook is life is always determined by my attitude.

- "Keep Hope Alive," that is what my college professors told me on my last day of leadership class. I gotta stay positive in life because the best is yet to come.


Remember to breathe.

- Sometimes I forget if my jaw is clenched, my shoulders are tight, or my fists are closed and my breathing is short.


That special someone will come into my life soon.

- God is working through him right now. Great things will happen to those who are patient. He will be worth the wait.


Love your family, they are all you got.

- Listen to your parents, but have those hard conversations with them. It always leads to growth, understanding, and better communication. Parents can provide a lot of insight and wisdom but it's important to develop who you are as a person outside of your family.





Recommendations:


"22 things I've learned at 22" blog post


39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page