top of page

how the church has hurt me

I'm going to start first by saying that this was not the easiest post for me to write. As someone who grew up going to church, praying before meals, even going to a, "declared" Christian university, I've had my fair share of exposure to Christianity.


But growing up, I've struggle spiritually with my faith and with the church. As I grew older and become more aware of myself in relation to the world, I've gained a deeper perspective on the church on how it has hurt others, including myself. I never truly felt belonged when attending the Sunday morning services. I avoided youth groups and group leaders with their denim jackets and $150 sneakers. Come college, I did a lot of, "church-hopping," hoping to seek connection and people who I can walk alongside with my faith journey.


But my faith has always been a personal journey.


I'm frustrated with the church institution.


When Christians say that all they need to do is, “pray for the world” or “pray for our nation,” I get angry.


I get angry because when I scroll on my social media feeds, I see "self-proclaimed" Christians turn away someone who is a different skin color, gender, physical ability, and even their sexuality.


I get angry because the beliefs and values taught in Sunday sermons do not reflect the actions of many Christians. They do not practice what they preach.


I get angry hearing all the trauma my classmates from my alma mater faced when attending a Christian university.


I get angry because of all the sermons I've attended growing up were led by a white, able-bodied, heterosexual males.


I get angry reading the numbers of how much pastors of megachurches make and thinking about the money that could have been used for their community instead of their wardrobe and material things.


I get angry because of the many different times people will cherry-pick the Bible to support their unjust and immoral actions and beliefs.


Now no one expects the church to be perfect. Humans aren't even perfect.


But I cannot support an institution who denies basic human rights to their neighbors. Who diminishes others because they do not look like them. Who deems that their own religion is superior to others.


Why are you judging others, when God told you not to?


Don't rely on what information social media gives you or what your pastor's sermon preaches on your, "Americanized" surface-level Sunday worship. The true work only comes when you realize that you are part of the system that continually justifies your actions as, "okay," because God will not judge you.


And it requires us to look deeply into our souls to truly see what our biases and held grudges stem from. True work goes beyond what is expected, than just re-sharing what someone has shared on their IG story or such. True work requires grit. It requires unraveling the things that are holding us back. It requires us to understand what it means to be free and to be our genuine selves. It requires us to get uncomfortable and learn what it means to be in spaces where you are not the majority. Because Jesus Christ did just that.


There is a reason why God put humans in the world in the first place. We are here to create, be different, express ourselves, ALL TOGETHER. Especially the last part.


To me, it doesn't matter whether or not you call yourself Christian. All religions stem from the basis of loving one another and respecting one another. All I ask to be a decent human being.


To put it simply as I end this post:

Love your neighbor, not the fucking religion.


 

Resources to read (click to see link):



73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page