top of page

on the pursuit towards rest... (life updates)

Hi, hello, long time no see! Life has been a crazy whirlwind these past couple of months that I couldn't find the time to really sit and write down this post. It's hard to accumulate and summarize what had happened to me so far, so listing it would be my best option.


Here are some life updates/milestones since my last post:

  • Moved back to Seattle and living with 2 amazing humans (and soon a corgi!)

  • Got a job promotion as a primary educator - my job is to facilitate online learning for School Age students around the Seattle area, help with their assignments, and plan some fun curriculum for them to do when they are done with school for the day!

  • Updated my photography business Sunasnaps

  • My other side hustle, Ji Designs, has really taken off! I have a brand new logo, had two successful launches (all sold out within the day). Here is what my logo looks like, made by my really good friend! (Thanks Elena)



 

With everything that been going on, I've felt like I haven't really been able to truly rest. It's not really my nature to rest (any type 7's out there?), but lately it's been something I'm constantly challenging myself on. My side businesses and work has eaten up my energy, that I felt drained everytime I come home. My energy is on others and so I haven't had the chance to do things for myself. I've strayed away from things that are giving me life: reading, writing letters, blogging, spending time with friends and family. I've been so focused on what I can do for others, my students, my co-workers, my friends, my family, that I neglected what my soul and being needs. And unfortunately my health took a toll and was faced with the consequences: lack of sleep, stressed, anxiety driven.


The pressure of constantly feeling like I always have to be, "on," has led to a detachment of my own self. And I hated the feeling of not be genuine to what I need for me. I've also noticed that I'm spiritually dry. I've strayed away for the very thing that gives me life: Jesus. I've been so caught up with life, that I neglected that being who has gotten me where I am today. (Anyone wanna start a Bible/devotion group together?)


As I'm writing this blog post, I'm doing my best to repair myself. In front of my desk, I wrote a list of things that makes Jireh happy. To name a few: reading, baking, bullet journaling, a warm cup of tea, writing letters, 1x1 with friends, nourishing my body with yummy food. Even if I'm on this pursuit of rest, I'm developed this strong level of contentment with where I am at in life right now. With everything put into a pause, it was a sign that I needed to do the same. Which all in all, makes it a lot easier to learn how to rest.


Overall, I'm trying to navigate quote-on-quote, "adult life." But the reality is we will never get it right huh? It's a journey, not a destination.



I'd like to share a quote that spoke to me: "One of the most courageous decisions you'll ever make is to finally let go of what is hurting your heart and soul."


 

Check out this blog post:

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page