top of page

JANUARY RECAP


Hey all!


Wow! I’ve recieved nothing but words of encouragement and positive affirmations ever since I published my website a couple days ago! I’m starting this new thing where I share some highlights, discoveries, and recaps on what I did during the month of January.


 

Here’s a glimpse of what’s been going on this month:


Because of my social media hiatus, I’ve been able to start winter quarter right. I’m taking only 12 credits because I’m also doing my TEFL certification online course. The courses I’m taking are:

- Human Development & Christian Faith

- Foundations of Leadership

- Leadership Practicum (which is essentially my internship at the Multi-Ethnic Programs)


Surprisingly so far, my quarter hasn’t been as stressful as I thought it was (knocking on wood). Everyday is a daily routine, but evenings are when I’m able to catch up with dear friends or work in assignments and readings. I enjoy the busy, but I also find peace in times when I can be alone.


On top of my classes, I’ve been doing two internships: one at my school’s Multi-Ethnic programs and class shadowing/student-teaching. I’m enjoying both experiences because of the people there. At the MEP headquarters, I help fill in the needed gaps of MEP, by running their Instagram accounts (they really enjoy the weekly polls), their newsletter and monthly advocacy wall. I work with first-generation students and leaders on campus, easing their transition to college and helping them make the most out of it! Also, I adore the people who I am working with and I appreciate that they give me the creative freedom to find ways to make MEP better. For my online TEFL course, I’m required to get experience from teaching english to non-native speakers. Luckily, my campus has a program that teaches English to foreign-exchange students. A lot of my experience is just shadowing and watching how the teacher engages with their students. Despite the fact that class sizes are small (the smallest i’ve seen is 2 students!), I really enjoy the teacher-student ratio. I get to interact with the students and do a lot of role-playing/speaking dialogue with them.


Early January, I heard back from The JET Program that I’ve moved onto interviews! My interview is coming up next week so I’m a bit nervous.


A while back my mom called me saying that I received a lot from my school that I got accepted into my second minor! Woo!



Last quarter when I had the honor to be part of my school’s Senate, one of my goals was to create a Senator position for the Family & Consumer Sciences (FCS) department. I’ve spent this month drafting a proposal and presented it to Senate a couple days ago. By the grace of God, the propasal got passed!


And that’s it so far!


 

Here are some songs that I’ve been listening to this month (check out my Spotify playlists!):

  • Sunflower by Post Malone

  • Close to Me by Isaiah

  • Honesty by Pink Sweat$

  • Broke by Samm Henshaw

  • 7 rings by Ariana Grande



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page