top of page

castor oil for hair growth: does it work?

My sisters are the ones who introduced me to castor oil. They rave about it.


Castor oil is a type of vegetable oil that is processed from castor beans. It has a number of medicinal, industrial, and pharmaceutical uses. And it can be found in various natural treatments and natural beauty products. What's nice is that Castor oil is high in fatty acids, and when applied to the scalp and hair, it's said to enhance the health of hair follicles and promote hair growth.


Not going to lie, I was kind of skeptical about the product because there is not much research that shows if castor oil helps with hair growth. However, for the sake of curiosity, I wanted to see if this product would work for me. As someone who struggles with thin hair and hair loss, I will take what I can. I plan on trying this product for one month, let's see how it goes.


In the blog post, I’ll be sharing:

  • my hair journey

  • before shots & my hair goals

  • the products I used

  • after shots

  • comparison shots

  • verdict: did it work or not?


Precaution: Before trying out any new products, make sure you do a skin patch test to see how your body reacts.


My Hair Journey:

Reflecting back in my hair journey, I have done a lot of damage to it. It started in middle school when I got my first hair straightener. Then I introduced other hot hair tools, and soon first discovered what split ends are. At the end of high school is where I dyed my hair for the first time. Then college turned me into a hair dyeing fanatic. It went from a light brown, to rose gold (?) to even blonde. But at the end of my college career, I decided to finally stop doing things to my hair. After experiencing immense hair loss, I noticed my hair become thinner. Now's the time to stop Jireh.


As of now, my hair is all natural. Air dry only and blow dryer on some occasions. Hot tools on special occasions. I try to do no-heat hairstyles and try to style it with as little heat as possible. My hope with using castor oil on my hair is to reduce damage, and possible reduce the visibility of my bald spots.


With my eyebrows and lashes, it's a bit different. My eyebrows and lashes are quite long. I don't have a problem with them, but would like to see if the castor oil can make my eyebrows more thicker and my lashes more voluminous.


My Hair Goals:

  • more volume in my hair

  • less bald spots in my scalp

  • voluminous lashes

  • thicker eyebrows


Before Shots:




The Products I Used:

My sister got this HUGE bottle of castor oil. The one she got is The Palma Christi Castor Oil. For application, we fill them in empty mascara wands that we ordered online. Luckily, all three of us are using this bottle. We are set for a while.


You can get the same one we ordered on Amazon here.


I plan on applying castor oil every night before I go to bed by using the mascara tube on my lashes and applying it my scalp by brushing it on. Fingers crossed to see if it works!


After Shots:



Comparison Shots:




Verdict: did it work or not?

Kinda? There's not a dramatic difference between the beginning of this month-long experiment to now.


Things that I noticed:

  • My lashes are fuller and longer

  • My lower lashes grew baby hairs

  • Eyebrows are less sparse

  • No improvement on my scalp


So it only worked on some hair. My head scalp hasn't made any improvement, but on my lashes and eyebrows it did. Am I going to continue to incorporate castor oil into my beauty routine? Maybe? I might just use it sparingly because I don't wanna my eyelashes to be longer than it needs to. I might just use it on my eyebrows cause it's been working the best there. Who knows, maybe in a couple of months I might see the results.


Of course, since i'm experiencing hair loss, I know that there is an underlying cause of hair loss such as my diet, stress, or hormones. Relying on castor oil may not be my best option.


Castor oil may not have worked for me for the month, but maybe for you! This was a fun experiment to do. Until the next blog post!


 

Not going to lie, I kept on saying canola oil instead of castor oil. I find myself using them interchangeably. My sisters can vouch for me.



Note: I am not sponsored by any of the brands that I mentioned. All the reviews in this blog post are purely based on my opinion alone.


Check out this blog post:

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page