top of page

I did a PM skincare routine for a month and here's what happened...

Updated: Apr 3, 2020

As I was randomly scrolling through my Pinterest account, I came across a post about a daily skincare routine that talks about what products to use every night. As someone who is an avid skincare lover, my goal this year is to focus on taking better care of my face. For years I’ve struggled with acne, large pores, oiliness, dryness, blackheads, whiteheads, dark spots, you name it! And I‘ve tried so many products to help my skin but in the end, I was doing more damage than good. One of my new year's resolutions is to take better care of my skin. So after some research and purchases, I’ve created my own nighttime skincare routine which I plan on sticking through this whole month.


In the blog post, I’ll be sharing:

  • my skin journey

  • before shots & my skin goals

  • my PM skincare routine breakdown

  • the products I used (link)

  • after shots

  • verdict: did it work or not?

  • other thoughts


My Skin Journey:

My skin journey started from when I started puberty. I'm sure many of you can resonate but it was the start of changes within my body. Hormones shifted, I had my period, my hair was growing in different places, my boobs were growing and acne started to form on my face. My skin was a whirlwind; I had seasons where it would be clear and seasons where it was like the size of Mt. Everest.


I tried different ways to combat my face: face masks, peeling gels, face scrubs, sprays, home remedies, medications. Some would work for a while and some made it worse. I thought that the products would work, but I was doing more harm than good to my face.


I learned that consistency is the key. I didn't have a full regime for my skin. It would be just cleanser and that's it because I didn't want my face to get oily. But oh if I could tell my younger self the importance of moisturizer!


Before I got to this point, I had to do some research about my skin. It's important to learn more about your skin problems so you can properly find products that your skin needs. Now I'm no skincare expert, but in order for you to tackle your skin issues, you gotta put the research amiright? I've narrowed it down to products the my skin needs: cleanser, toner, essence, peeling pads, clay mask, sheet mask, serum, eye cream, sleeping mask, moisturizer.


 

Before Shots:

Here are the before shots of my skin prior to starting the new nighttime routine. I have combination skin, meaning that I have an oily t-zone but I have dry patches in other parts of my face. Not gonna lie, it was hard looking at these photos. But I'm excited for the possible improvement that my skin might go through this month!





Goals:

  • To reduce the oiliness in my t-zone

  • To decrease the size of my pores

  • Smoother skin texture

  • Less acne

  • Reduce the appearance of dark spots


 

My PM Skincare Routine Breakdown:



As you may have noticed, I don't use some of the same products every night. That is because each day is different, the weather might be different each day that may require a detoxifying clay mask or it might be dry outside and might require a sleeping mask. It's also important to me that I interchange products so that my skin doesn't get used to the product. It will make the product more effective. I try to space it out as even as I can.


A word of caution: Be careful before piling it on. Powerful ingredients can irritate sensitive skin. So it's important to always patch-test accordingly.


Products I Used:

For a more in-depth look into all the products that I used, check out my blog below.


 

After Shots:

Here are the after shots of my face at the end of the month. I definitely see changes in my skin when comparing the before and after shots. Here are things that I've noticed:





Verdict: Did it work or not?

Oh heckin' yes. As you can see in the before and after shots, I have less acne and my dark spots lightened up.


Still, my face will continue to be combination skin, oily on the T-zone and dry patches. But, I noticed my face being slightly less oily throughout the day and the dry patches on my cheeks feeling hydrated. My eyes look brighter, still puffy, but the dark circles seem to be less prominent. My pores shrunk slightly, especially on my nose area. My dark spots lightened up and the texture of my skin is smoother.


So did I fulfill my goals? I would say yes! I've seen improvement on my skin and my overall confidence. I want to continue this skincare routine until I find something better. But as of now, this works for me!


Other thoughts:

1. Remember, quality over quantity.

- To me, you're getting more if you spend a little more on your skincare products. Yes, it might be crazy because you don't know if it will work on your skin and hence make you "waste" your money. But you are paying for the quality ingredients for your skin. Invest in those solid products that will help your skin.


2. Genetics and diet play a role

- I know that I will always have acne and large pores because it runs in my family. I acknowledge that my diet and exercise can have an impact on my skin. So stay hydrated, get some exercise and love your skin through it all!


Overall, I'm planning on continuing this regime because it has been working for me. I plan on making a 6 month results so stay tuned for that. (around September).


Let me know if you plan on doing a skincare routine. (of course, catered to your skin type and needs). Hopefully it works well like it did for me.


Until the next blog post!


35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page