top of page

beyond handwashing...

Updated: Mar 20, 2020

Catchy title? Well, I can't take the credit because this blog post was inspired by my Pastor's recent church message. With all that is happening in this season with COVID19, it led to many churches to temporarily pause the in-person gatherings. But my church did not want to stop church and so they took it online and did a live stream service instead. Because the church is not a place, but the people right? Many people gathered together to listen to Pastor's message called, "Beyond Handwashing."


I'm still in disbelief that this is happening, I remember experiencing the beginnings of the virus months ago when I was flying home from the Philippines. My uncle, grandma, and I all wearing a face mask to protect ourselves as we embark home. But I never knew that this case would eventually lead to a pandemic, affecting many all over the world.


But I'm also not scared. I'm good at putting those thoughts aside. But don't get me wrong, my heart hurts for the people who are directly impacting by the virus. Friends and family members' classes moved to a remote state, concerts and events are canceled, shops and restaurants are only doing take out, medical professionals are working the most. Those factors I understand but there's also the other side of it all that I find to be completely absurd. People panicking, long lines in the store, a deficit in supplies, heck there's not even any toilet paper! Under the surface, there's hatred towards the Asian community, racist microaggressions, prejudice.


For those who are experiencing the spiritual struggle and wonder, "God, why is this happening? What can I do to help alleviate the brokenness my community is facing?"


Let me make it clear that there's a difference between hearing a couple of facts versus knowing the whole truth. The news and media's job is to spread the word and communicate with the rest of the world what is going on. However, they are also good at feeding into people's fear. You barely will go on the news and find something positive. People like drama, the negativity is what makes people turn their heads. Be wary though, learn which news is fake and which is based on research. Be careful with clickbait and the many things your loved ones share on social media. Make the best judgment. Do your research. You'll learn that the virus is only affecting a small percentage of the world. Many people who are tested positive, eventually are cured.


I am a firm believer that everything happens for a reason. There's a reason why this pandemic is happening. And you're probably not going to like the why.


The reason why I believe this outspread is happening is that we've all sinned. We're so far fetched into what we need for ourselves, whether that is looking good, needing the right job, finding the right person, buying this or that, and much more that we tend to stray away from what matters most: our faith. My pastor said, "Let's not shrink back in fear, but let's step forward in faith." So good right?!


2 Chronicles 7:13-14 says, "When I shut up the heavens so that there is no rain, or command locusts to devour the land or send a plague among my people, if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land." NIV


I don't have anything to be scared of because I know I have a God who can help overcome anything.


Friends, it is not the end of the world. You are stronger than you think. It's time for us to step out of our own needs in this individualistic culture and reach out to those in the margins. Put your desires and needs aside and think about others instead. Be kind to one another and check in with loved ones. We need each other and we need community.


2 Timothy 1:7 says, "For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love, and self-discipline." NIV


It's crazy how things can escalate. I hope that I can look back to this post and think, "Wow people don't have anything to be scared of. It was just a season."


If you know anyone that needs to hear this, feel free to share this blog post.


Until the next one.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page